Minutes of Inaugural General Meeting 16 October 2006

Attendance

27 Hill Top Road residents attended. Apologies were received from Maggie Bell, Amanda Carpenter, Chris Cornforth, Isobel Gillham, Peter Hughes, Wilfrid Knapp, Colin May, Marie-Noelle May, Jean Organ, Cecilia Twinch, Andrew Wilkinson. It was agreed that the number of people present was adequate to start an association.

Changes to proposed constitution

The definition of residents who can be members should be broadened to include, at the discretion of the committee, transient residents such as residents of half-way houses and students, and absentee house owners. Membership is not intended to be extended to people living in the street in cars or vans.

Subscriptions will be collected per person (rather than per household), and each subscription has one vote at general meetings. Children can be members at the discretion of the committee.

After extensive discussion, it was agreed to retain the constitution's proposal of a minimum of four and maximum of seven on the committee.

The constitution should refer consistently to the "Chair" of the committee, rather than the "Chairman".

Officers will be chosen by the elected committee, though it was noted that some would prefer that at subsequent AGMs the preferred Chair should, if possible, be elected at the meeting. However, this would require a change to the constitution at the next AGM.

Committee election

From twelve people who had originally offered to serve on the committee, five withdrew, leaving seven elected without a ballot. These seven are: Floris van den Broecke, Laura Elliott, Stephen Jones, Becky Miles, Kerry Patterson, Karen Spiller, David Sutton. Officers will be elected on 24 October 2006. It was noted that many other people would be willing to be co-opted for specific roles.

Subscriptions

These were set by the meeting at £2 per person per year waged, £1 unwaged. It was agreed that additional donations would be requested when subscriptions were collected, and the amount donated would be recorded separately by the association.

Next actions

The committee will tell the whole street the result of the IGM and subsequent election of officers by the committee, and organise collection of subscriptions which will be used to pay for the start-up expenses for the association. From this meeting it

was evident that there was considerable concern about the potential Warneford developments, about traffic and parking, about HMOs and vandalism. The committee will consult members before representing their views and planning action on these issues. In the longer term, social activities will be planned. There is also a project planned to record the history of the road and its residents. A meeting was requested to continue discussion of the Warneford developments. The Golf Club offered to host this.

List of attendees

Sheila Bradbury

Chris Brazier

Floris van den Broecke

David Constantine

Paul Deluce (non-resident)

Laura Elliott

John Ellis

Paul Foot

Helen Ganly

David Gillespie

Stephen Green

Stephen Heames

Joy Hendry

Anthea Holme

Stephen Jones

Alan Lacev

Ros Lacey

Vicki Lloyd

Becky Miles

Kerry Patterson

Graeme Salmon

Judith Salmon

Jane Slee

Karen Spiller

Vladan Stojanovich

Rowland Stout

David Sutton

Richard Twinch

Nuala Young (non-resident)